Book Discussion?

Update: The book has been chosen.

My favorite vegan blogger asked some friends if they were interested in reading and discussing with him. I signed up, and we discussed an excellent book for four days in a row on Skype. It was a lot of fun, I got to know someone on a new level, and I learned a lot. This has got me wanting more, so I am inviting anyone interested to read/discuss a book with me at the end of July. If interested, please take a look at the books on my to-read list. I was thinking David Nibert’s book would be good, but that might be a bit dry (I’ve read a few pages before). Let me know what you would be interested in reading together, including possibilities not on my list, as long as it’s not something I’ve already read.

~ by Louëlla on June 27, 2010.

4 Responses to “Book Discussion?”

  1. Here are some books I haven’t read yet that I’d be interested in discussing:
    -Barbed Wire: An Ecology of Modernity
    -War and Nature: Fighting Humans and Insects with Chemicals
    -Animal Philosophy
    -Animal Geographies
    -Making a Killing: The Political Economy of Animal Rights
    -Waste: Uncovering the Global Food Scandal

    Don’t forget about
    -Derrida’s “The Animal Therefore I am (More to Follow)” and -Coetzee’s _Lives of Animals_

    Nibert’s book isn’t that great… Making a Killing (Torres), Beyond Boundaries (Noske), and “Animals are Part of the Working Class” (Hribal) are better.

  2. Oh, “Making a Killing” is the book I was originally thinking of by Bob Torres. “Animal Geographies” sounds interesting, and I definitely want to read more about waste! I just looked up “Animal Geographies”; now that sounds *really* interesting. And my library has it. SWEET. This one’s at the top of my list right now, but let’s see if anyone else has any ideas.

    • Hi!

      You asked me on Good Reads if I was interested in discussing Animal Geographies with you. I apologize for not responding sooner, so I’m responding here. I would love to discuss it with you.

      Here are some other books related to animality, human-animal relationships, animal oppression, and veganism I found very inspiring and emergent in their own ways:

      How Animals Talk
      The Spell of the Sensuous
      Animals & Women
      Sistah Vegan
      Animal Underworld

      And two other books that aren’t directly related to the topics above but are paradigmatically profound: The Web of Life, Belonging: A Culture of Place, and Honoring the Medicine.

      • Cool! I’ve read Animals & Women and Sistah Vegan, so we could discuss those as well if you’re interested, but they would have to be secondary. Tonight I am having dinner with someone who is planning to read Animal Geographies. I will get in touch with you soon privately. Thanks for the reading ideas.

Leave a Reply

 
